Skip to content

Home Again (Explained)

July 30, 2011

I am home.  Not quite as easy as it may seem.

So I realize that I just stopped writing sometime in June.  I do not feel the need to justify my actions (meaning not writing on my blog).  I was very busy the last few weeks in Samsun.  It was emotion packed and full of other events such as last meetings, tests, packing, goodbyes, laughs with friends, and, during the final week in Turkey, a big trip that took us to Istanbul, Izmir, Ephesus, and Pamukkale.  It was a ton of fun and a great way to end out the year.

But I don’t wish to fill this post with details about the ‘old rocks’ at Ephesus or exactly why the season final of ‘Öyle bir Geçer Zaman Ki’ was so exciting (just know I am anxiously awaiting the next season to start).  I want to address the fact that I am sitting at the computer in my house in America and am typing a blog post on an English keyboard…something I have not done since August 28, 2010.  Actually there are a lot of things I haven’t done since the last days of August 2010 that now I am able to indulge in on a daily basis if I desire.  Some examples:

  • Eating pork.  Yeah, that just doesn’t really exist in Turkey.
  • Listen to English on the radio or TV.  Finding a random American show in Turkey that wasn’t dubbed doesn’t exactly count.
  • Rediscover and use all the clothes I didn’t bring to Turkey.  I forgot how many clothes I have.
  • Talk to my family without the use of Skype.
However there are also a lot of things I no longer have.  It is strange to not have aspects of life I had grown so accustomed to.  Examples:
  • The Muslim Call to Prayer.  I actually thought I woke up to it the first morning home.  Turns out it was the TV downstairs.  Talk about strange realization.
  • Speaking Turkish.  This ranks way toward the top of the list.  I dream bilingually much more now than when in Turkey.  Probably because I think in Turkish a lot more now than when I was there.  It’s strange, but I decide to think in Turkish now because I miss using it in daily life.
  • Çay/Tea.  We drank it all the time and even though I brought a tea pot home, I don’t make it all the time.
  • The other exchangers.  I miss them a lot.  The best way to explain it is that before I went to Turkey, my main support system was my family.  Then they were gone (when I left) and my best friends (read: the other students) became my support system.  It was hard because I had to adjust to living with and relaying on new people.  I am in that same process now, though it is easier than the first time.
Those are the main thoughts I have been dealing with lately.  I am so glad I went to Turkey and saw what I did.  I have no regrets.  Until later my dear readers.   Thanks for following.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 10:50 pm

    YOU CAN ABSOLUTELY NOTTTTTTTT END YOUR BLOG!keep up all the writing! I LOVE reading this! 😀 😀 😀

  2. laedri permalink
    August 21, 2011 10:30 am

    türkçe konuşmaya devam edecekmisin?

Leave a Reply

